Award of Safwan Sobhan received

Bashundhara Group sector-C chief financial officer Kajal Kumar Banik has received the crest and award of Bashundhara Group Vice-chairman Safwan Sobhan from the National Board of Revenue (NBR).

On behalf of Safwan Sobhan, Kajal Kumar received the crest and award from NBR chairman Abu Hena Md Rahmatul Muneem at a function at the officers’ club in Dhaka on Wednesday.Safwan Sobhan has been given the award as the highest taxpayer in the young category for his significant contributions to the national exchequer.

Finance Minister AHM Mustafa Kamal was the chief guest, while Finance Division senior secretary Fatima Yasmin was a special guest on the occasion.

The Ministry of Finance published a gazette notification earlier last week nominating 141 individuals and companies for tax card facilities for the next year.

The selected cardholders will get special facilities, including invitations to national programmes, privileges at

the VIP lounges of airports, and priority at star-rated hotels.

Earlier, International AsiaOne magazine honoured Safwan Sobhan as ‘Global Leader of the Year’ for his outstanding leadership, efficiency, and contribution to business as well as society. He is a TOYP award holder of Junior Chamber International (JCI).Other awardees in the “young tax payers” category are Asif Iqbal Mahmud, Nasiruddin Akhter Rashid, Raisa Sigma Hima and Robin Razon Sakhawat.

East West Media Group, the umbrella organisation of the media units of Bashundhara Group, including Bangladesh Pratidin, Kalerkantho and Daily Sun, has been awarded tax card facilities for the seventh consecutive time in the media category.

On behalf of East West Media Group, Bashundhara Group Sector-B Chief Financial Officer Nore Alam Seddeke receives the award and crest from National Board of Revenue (NBR) Chairman Abu Hena Md Rahmatul Muneem at a function at Officers’ Club in the capital on Wednesday.

On behalf of EWMGL, Bashundhara Group sector-B chief financial officer Nore Alam Seddeke received the award and crest from NBR chairman.

The media owned by East West Media Group Limited are Kaler Kantha, Bangladesh Pratidin, Daily Sun,, News24 Television, T-Sports and Radio Capital.

Addressing the award ceremony, Finance Minister Mustafa Kamal said that paying taxes is not a duty but a responsibility to the underprivileged in society.

“We are moving forward with everyone’s help. Our national revenue sector has improved tremendously in the last 13 years since the present government took over,” he said. Mustafa Kamal praised Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina’s leadership as the architect of modern Bangladesh and her commitment to making Bangladesh a developed country by 2041.

Senior Secretary Fatima Yasmin said the revenue board has collected Tk 170 billion more in taxes, with 20 percent growth year-on-year.

According to Rahmatul Muneem, many people want to pay taxes, but doing so is more of a hassle than a matter of financial complexity.

“The revenue board has been working to make tax payments hassle-free. Taxes should be paid out of love for the country,” he said. Since 2016, NBR has been giving tax cards and awards to the top taxpayers.